Charlotte ChoiceCharter School

Skip to main content
Academics » Curriculum


Common Core Standards


Common Core Common Core State Standards (CCSS) are a set of shared, Kindergarten through 12th grade national standards in English Language Arts and Mathematics.  The Common Core standards will allow teachers to develop students’ understanding of the content on a deeper level by focusing on the most vital concepts.  The Common Core standards also provide a more logical progression of skills that spiral and build in complexity from one grade level to the next. 


North Carolina Essential Standards


North Carolina Essential Standards are the content area standards developed specific to North Carolina.  While Common Core State Standards include only English Language Arts and Mathematics, North Carolina has created Essential Standards for all other subject areas.  The Essential Standards are aligned with Common Core Literacy Standards and professional development is being provided for teachers in integrating these literacy skills across all content areas.


For additional information regarding the Common Core and Essential Standards please review the following links: (National PTA) (Common Core) (NCDPI)


 If you have questions regarding Common Core and Essential Standard Information please contact our school.